Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer in Kissimmee
The Ward Law Group is a law firm dedicated to protecting the rights of accident victims and their families. We have been serving Florida for many years and have successfully handled many drunk driving accident cases on behalf of our clients.
Drunk Driving Accident Attorney in Kissimmee
At The Ward Law Group, we have been handling drunk driving accident cases in Florida for years and understand what it takes to pursue a claim following a drunk driving car accident successfully. Our skilled team will work with you and help you get the compensation you deserve. Contact us today for a free consultation!
Drunk Driving Accident Statistics
According to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Crash Facts report, there were 5,223 alcohol confirmed cases, 461 fatalities, and 3,160 injuries in drunk driving accidents in 2019. This is a 5% decrease from the previous year. The report attributes the decrease in drunk driving accidents to the increased use of transportation services such as UBER and LYFT.
While this is encouraging news, it is important to remember that drunk driving is still a serious problem that can lead to devastating consequences.
Every day, almost 30 people in the United States die in motor vehicle crashes that involve an alcohol-impaired driver. This amounts to one death every 48 minutes. Drunk driving accidents can be particularly devastating because they are often completely preventable.
If you or someone you know has been affected by a drunk driving accident, it is important to seek legal help as soon as possible to protect your rights and pursue compensation for your damages. With the right attorney by your side, you can hold the liable parties accountable and get the justice you deserve.
Drunk Driving Laws in Florida
In the state of Florida, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08% or greater. If a driver’s BAC is 0.15% or higher they are considered legally intoxicated and can be charged with a DUI, amounting to a fine ranging from $500 up to $1000.
This charge differs if there is a minor found in the vehicle, with an increase in fine and possible jail time. The penalties for a first DUI offense also include a mandatory license suspension of at least 180 days.
In addition, there will be an impoundment or immobilization of the vehicle for 10 days up to 90 days depending on the frequent offense is also a consequence.
What are the Penalties for Drunk Drivers in Florida?
Florida’s criminal laws mandate that for the first offense of a DUI conviction with a blood alcohol content of at least .08, the person’s driver’s license is suspended for 180 days, and they must pay a fine of between $500 and $1,000. There is no mandatory jail time for most first-time DUI offenses, and the maximum possible jail time is six months. A person may also be required to have an ignition interlocking device installed in their car.
With the second DUI conviction for a person driving with a blood alcohol content of at least .08, the mandatory jail time is ten days to nine months if the conviction happened within five years of the first conviction. The person’s driver’s license is revoked for 180 days to a year, and there is a mandatory fine of between $1,000 and $2,000. If the conviction occurred within five years of the first conviction, your license will be revoked for five years. A person with a second conviction must have an ignition interlocking device installed in their car for at least a year.
With the third DUI conviction for a person driving with a blood alcohol content of at least .08, the mandatory jail time is 30 days to five years if it happened within ten years of a prior conviction. The criminal conviction is considered a felony. If the third DUI conviction happened within ten years of a prior DUI conviction, their license will be revoked for ten years, and there is a mandatory fine of between $2,000 and $5,000.
If the person’s third DUI conviction is more than ten years after a prior conviction, the driver’s license is revoked for 180 days to a year, there is a mandatory fine of between $1,000 and $2,000, and there is a maximum jail term of twelve months. The person must also have an ignition interlocking device installed in their car for at least two years.
With the fourth DUI conviction for persons driving with a blood alcohol content of at least .08, the case can be charged as either a felony or a misdemeanor. If it’s charged as a felony, the mandatory jail time is up to five years, with a $5,000 fine. The person’s driver’s license may also be permanently revoked. For all fourth DUI convictions, there is a mandatory fine of at least $2,000.
For all DUI convictions where a person has a blood alcohol content of at least .15 with blood tests or breath tests, Florida law requires higher fines and lengthier jail sentences.
How Can a Kissimmee Drunk Driver Accident Lawyer Help?
The attorneys at Ward Law Group have years of experience handling cases involving drunk driving accidents and other injuries caused by negligence or carelessness. Our team of dedicated lawyers is ready to fight for your rights, no matter how complicated your case may be.
Receive Free Legal Consultation
Our firm offers free legal consultations over the phone or at our offices located in Kissimmee, Florida. We also offer same-day appointments if necessary, so we can meet with you as soon as possible after receiving your call or email.
Work With an Experienced Drunk Driving Accident Attorney
Our drunk driving injury lawyers at Ward Law Group have handled hundreds of cases involving injuries or death caused by drunk drivers. We know how to build a strong case against those responsible for your injuries or the death of a loved one. With our experience, you can rest assured that we will do everything in our power to ensure that you receive the compensation they owe you.
Compensation for Being Hit by a Drunk Driver in Kissimmee
A drunk driving accident can have devastating effects on both the driver and the victim. These accidents are often fatal, and even when they aren’t, they can lead to serious injuries and permanent disabilities.
The drunk driving accident attorneys at our firm have the necessary experience to handle your claims. We can help you determine what damages or compensation you may be entitled to after an accident, as well as assist you in filing a claim against the negligent party’s insurance company, so your financial losses are covered.
There are numerous types of damages available in these cases including:
- Pain and suffering: These damages cover emotional pain caused by being involved in an accident as well as physical pain associated with any injuries sustained during it. They also cover any mental anguish or stress caused by having to deal with the aftermath of the accident.
- Medical Expenses: These costs can include emergency room visits, hospital stays, treatment by doctors or specialists, and medications prescribed by physicians.
- Lost Wages: If you miss work as a result of your injuries, then you may be able to recover lost wages.
- Loss of Earning Capacity: If the injuries suffered in the accident reduce your ability to earn money in the future, then you can sue for lost earning capacity. This includes past and future earnings that would have been earned if not for the accident and its resulting injuries.
You can only recover damages if the other driver was at fault for causing the accident. If you were partially to blame, then your damages will be reduced by your percentage of fault. With our drunk driving accident lawyer at your side, we will ensure to work to keep the court’s favor in your case.
What if a Drunk Driver Killed my Family Member?
If a drunk driver killed your family member, you have the right to recover both economic and non-economic damages from the drunk driver by bringing a wrongful death lawsuit. Under Florida’s wrongful death laws, the types of damages that are allowed fall under two separate categories: damages paid to the family members of the deceased person and damages paid to the deceased person’s estate. Money damages paid to family members include:
- the loss of services and support that the deceased person provided to the family members
- mental pain and suffering
- burial and funeral expenses
- the loss of companionship and protection
- the loss of the deceased person’s instructions and guidance as a parent
Damages paid to the deceased person’s estate include:
- the deceased person’s lost wages
- any lost benefits,
- future earnings from the date of the accident to the person’s death
- the earnings and benefits the deceased would have had in their estate if they had not died
- any funeral or medical expenses the estate paid
Contact a Kissimmee Drunk Driving Accident Lawyer Now
If a drunk driver injured you in Kissimmee, a drunk driving accident attorney can help you in numerous ways. First, the attorney will thoroughly investigate the details and finer points of the accident, including the police report and other accident info reports. The attorney will get statements and opinions from anyone who witnessed the accident, and also obtain statements from expert witnesses in drunk driving accidents who can testify about the effects of alcohol on the body and how the drunk driver was the cause of your injuries. Finally, the attorney will gather all of the necessary evidence and paperwork, communicate with the drunk driver’s attorney and the insurance company, and make sure that all documents are filed on time, including a personal injury lawsuit against the drunk driver.
If you or a loved one has been injured due to the negligence of a drunk driver, you may be entitled to compensation for your injuries and losses. You may be able to recover damages for medical expenses, lost wages, pain, and suffering, and more. Contact our office today for a free consultation.