In accordance with Florida PIP’s 14-day rule, injured victims must seek medical treatment within 14 days of the accident. You should seek medical treatment as soon as possible if you believe you have suffered injuries. Your insurer will likely deny your claim if you fail to seek medical treatment within the first two weeks following an accident.
It is a good idea to seek medical attention even if you are not sure if you have been injured. It is common for injuries to not manifest for hours or even days after they occur.
According to the 2013 PIP law change, accident victims must receive “initial care and services” within two weeks of their accident in order to be eligible for PIP benefits. Any medical attention, as long as it is provided by a qualified healthcare provider, supervised or prescribed by a qualified healthcare provider, will comply with this requirement.
Healthcare providers who are qualified include:
The statute does not mention physical therapists, massage therapists, or other health care providers as eligible providers. If you submit a claim to your insurance company, chances are it will be denied, and you won’t get any benefits.
In order to meet the requirements of the 14-day Florida PIP rule, you should always go to your doctor or emergency department after a crash, both to ensure you are healthy and to ensure you meet your eligibility.
Florida’s amended PIP law also limits the benefits available to claimants through personal injury protection. Under the revised PIP rules, if you received treatment within 14 days and:
A minimum of $10,000 in coverage should be available to you. Depending on your needs, you may want to carry a larger PIP policy than what is required by the state.
In Florida, PIP insurance claims are defined in Florida Statute 395.002(8). Specifically, the statute describes this as a situation in which the victim is suffering from acute symptoms requiring immediate attention to prevent:
You should inform your doctor if you suffer a health emergency so they can note the event in your chart. This may benefit your case. An injury must not be determined as an “emergency medical condition” within 14 days of an accident. If you seek medical care within two weeks, you should be eligible for PIP benefits.
In 2019, U.S. drivers reported more than 6.5 million automobile accidents to the police. According to Driving-Tests, more than 1.9 million of these accidents resulted in injuries, and more than 33,000 involved a death. Many people fail to seek the compensation they are entitled to after a car accident because…Read More
Rideshare services such as Lyft and Uber have transformed how people get around in the modern world. However, even with the endless benefits these companies provide, they are not immune to devastating accidents. Those involved in rideshare accidents often endure debilitating injuries, excruciating pain, and extensive medical expenses. These outcomes…Read More
Following an automobile accident, posting about the incident on your social media accounts, like Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, or other online forums, can be tempting. In truth, sharing this type of content can affect your legal claim and the amount of money you receive in the long run. To ensure your…Read More